O-Sensei

Aikido Founder Morihei Ueshiba (O-Sensei)

bokken on stand
 
Calligraphy

Calligraphy by Master Ujita

Dojo announcements


Summer Schedule

The beginners and regular classes will be combined starting Monday, 20 June and class will run from 6:30 to 8:00pm. The amalgamation will run until Wednesday, 31 August, inclusive.

The following instructors will be teaching on dates sensei is away:

Date Instructor
Sat. July 23 Kim Riddick
Mon. July 25 Boris Mandelis
Wed. July 27 Bruce Riddick
Sat. July 30 Ramin Arvin (Mountain Coast Aikikai)
Mon. Aug. 1 Dave Bursey
Wed. Aug. 3 Jeff Bastreghi
Mon. Aug. 29 Boris Mandelis
Wed. Aug. 31 Bob Wolber
Sat. Sept. 3 Kim Riddick
Mon. Sept. 5 Sharon Bader

Introduction to Aikido - 6 classes - September 2016

If you are curious about what Aikido has to offer, this is your chance!

Vancouver West Aikikai will be offering a special 2-week introductory course for teens and adults in September 2016. This will take place on Mondays and Wednesdays from 6pm to 7:30pm and Sundays from 6:30pm to 7:30pm, starting Sept 12 and ending Sept 25. The price for six classes is $50. Please arrive a few minutes before class starts and wear loose, comfortable clothing.

You can register and pay through PayPal, or with cash or cheque at your first class.

Free introductory class for new beginners

is on the last Monday of each month (except holidays) at 6:00pm.

Upcoming Aikido Seminars
Date Instructor Host Location
Sep 10-11th Ishiyama Shihan Vancouver West Aikikai Vancouver
Click on the date for more details about a seminar.

Chief Instructor and Dojo-cho
(Chief Executive Director):
Ishu Ishiyama Shihan, 7th dan

   

Honourary Dojo-cho:
Y. Kawahara Shihan, 8th dan
1940–2011

Vancouver West Aikikai is affiliated with the Aikikai Foundation (Aikido World Headquarters, Tokyo, Japan), Canadian Aikido Federation, & British Columbia Aikido Federation. Vancouver West Aikikai is a not for profit organization.